Prizes / Award

UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize:

The Prize is funded by the Republic of Korea through arrangements made with the Municipal Council of Cheongju City. Consisting of US $30,000, the award is given every two years in order to honour individuals or institutions that have made significant contributions to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage. (This prize announces in March to April each year)


UNESCO-Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture

The prize  rewards, each year, two laureates – individuals, groups or institutions – who, through their work and outstanding achievements, endeavour to disseminate greater knowledge of Arab art and culture.

The Prize is endowed with $60,000 (USD), divided equally between the two winners selected on the recommendation of an international jury, which will be created for this purpose.

Candidatures can be submitted online only.

Send an e-mail to with the name of the person / institution that you would like to nominate. The Prize Secretariat will send information on the submission procedures and give you access to the online form. Nominations for the Prize should be submitted no later than 31 December 2022.

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

Awarded anually, the $25,000 Prize is named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, a Colombian journalist who was assassinated in front of the offices of his newspaper El Espectador in Bogotá, Colombia on 17 December 1986.


UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence

The prize rewards significant activities in the scientific, artistic, cultural and communication fields aimed at the promotion of a spirit of tolerance and non-violence.

Awarded every two years, on the International Day for Tolerance (16 November), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$ 100,000. (This prize announces in June to July each year